• News
  • Dec 11, 2023

8th Yokohama Triennale Announces Artist Lineup

Installation view of LUNGISWA GQUNTA’s Ntabamanzi, 2022, barbed wire, fabric, silver coins, dimensions variable, at Henry Moore Institute, Leeds, 2022. Photo by Rob Harris. Courtesy of the artist and Henry Moore Foundation. 

The eighth Yokohama Triennale announced the first round of artists on November 28 in a press release. The list features 67 participants, 21 of whom will create new works reflecting the exhibition theme, “Wild Grass: Our Lives.” Conceived by co-artistic directors Beijing-based curators Liu Ding and Carol Yinghua Lu, the concept was inspired by 20th-century Chinese poet Lu Xun’s anthology of the same name, evoking “humble humanism, courage, resilience, faith, and solidarity.” The Triennale will open on March 15 and run to June 9, 2024. 

Among the diverse roster of artists is South Ho, a Hong Kong-based photographer who focuses on capturing various locations in his home city looking at the aftermath of major events. Vunkwan Tam, who also hails from Hong Kong, creates installations and sculptures using scavenged objects that have multiple evocative meanings. Veteran Osaka-based artist Morimura Yasumasa’s work parodies various famous historical and pop-culture icons with his visage superimposed onto them.

The Yokohama Triennale will be hosted at the newly renovated Yokohama Museum of Art, the former Daiichi Bank Yokohama Branch, and BankART KAIKO as well as outside the three venue buildings, at sites within the city, and in the free area of the Yokohama Museum of Art.

The list of artists taking part in the 8th Yokohama Triennale (2024) are:

Søren Aagaard
Dirk Braeckman
Élise Carron & Fanny Devaux
Rainbow Chan
Susan Cianciolo
Larry Clark
Norm Clasen
Clément Cogitore
Raffaella Crispino
Carlomar Arcangel Daoana
Jeremy Deller
Péter Dobai
Miho Dohi
Pippa Garner
Lungiswa Gqunta
Miles Greenberg
Aneta Grzeszykowska
Jens Haaning
Artan Hajrullahu
Takashi Hamaguchi
Lewis Hammond
Matthew Harris
Kiyoshi Hasegawa
South Ho
Jonathan Horowitz
Huang Po-Chih
Stanya Kahn
Özgür Kar
Damla Kilickiran
Keizo Kitajima
Josh Kline
Käthe Kollwitz
Kuriyagawa Hakuson
Klara Liden
Lu Xun
Treiborlang Lyngdoh Mawlong
Stéphane Mandelbaum
Yasumasa Morimura
Sandra Mujinga
Joar Nango
Erik Niedling
Ingo Niermann
Yoshinori Niwa
Ono Tadashige
Open Group (Yuriy Biley, Pavlo Kovach, Anton Varga)
Eiko Otake
Prickly Paper (Chen Yifei & Ou Feihong)
Tomas Rafa
Sibylle Ruppert
Margaret Salmon
Allan Sekula
Lieko Shiga
Rita Siegfried
Vunkwan Tam
Taninaka Yasunori
Salote Tawale
Sofu Teshigahara
Tomiyama Taeko
Hiroki Tsukuda
Emmanuel Van der Auwera
Myrthe van der Mark
Puck Verkade
Zhao Wenliang
Zheng Yefu

Subscribe to ArtAsiaPacific’s free weekly newsletter with all the latest news, reviews, and perspectives, directly to your inbox each Monday.