• News
  • Sep 27, 2018

Sharjah Biennial 14 Full List of Participating Artists Revealed

On September 26, the Sharjah Art Foundation (SAF) revealed the complete list of artists and commissions that will be featured at Sharjah Biennial 14, scheduled to be presented from March 7 to June 10, 2019, with the theme “Leaving the Echo Chamber.” The list includes a total of close to 90 established and emerging artists from all around the globe and over 60 newly commissioned works, which will be displayed over three distinct exhibitions. 

“Journey Beyond the Arrow,” curated by Zoe Butt, will reveal how the meanings of traditions and customs have shifted as a result of colonial exploitation, religious conflicts, and ideological extremism. The artists to be included in this sections are: Khadim Ali, Kawayan de Guia, Carlos Garaicoa, Meiro Koizumi, Jompet Kuswidananto, Neo Muyanga, Tuấn Andrew Nguyễn, Phan Thảo Nguyên, Ho Tzu Nyen, Lisa Reihana, Ampannee Satoh, Thamotharampillai Shanaathanan, Kidlat Tahimik, Qiu Zhijie, Antariksa, Shiraz Bayjoo, Adriana Bustos, Rohini Devasher, GUDSKUL, Léuli Eshrāghi, Anawana Haloba, Roslisham Ismail (Ise), Nalini Malani, Lee Mingwei, Ahmad Fuad Osman, Mark Salvatus, Xu Zhen, Lantian Xie and the 31st Century Museum of Contemporary Spirit.

Omar Kholeif will curate “Making New Time,” which will reimagine material culture, and explore how cultural narratives are created and deconstructed over time. The artists are: Lawrence Abu Hamdan, Sophia al-Maria, Cory Arcangel, Marwa Arsanios, Alessandro Balteo-Yazbeck, Candice Breitz, Ian Cheng, Shezad Dawood, Stan Douglas, Alfredo Jaar, Ann Veronica Janssens, Otobong Nkanga with Emeka Ogboh, Bruno Pacheco, Heather Phillipson, Jon Rafman, Pamela Rosenkranz, Hrair Sarkissian, Amie Siegel, Kemang Wa Lehulere, Munem Wasif, Akram Zaatari, Semiha Berksoy, Huguette Caland, Lubaina Himid, Barbara Kasten, Astrid Klein, Marwan, Michael Rakowitz and Anwar Jelal Shemza.

“Look for Me All Around You,” curated by Claire Tancons, will examine the phenomena of dispossession and diaspora. The show will feature works by: Jennifer Allora and Guillermo Calzadilla, Caline Aoun, Leo Asemota, Aline Baiana, Hannah Black, Mohamed Bourouissa, Jace Clayton, Christopher Cozier, Annie Dorsen, Torkwase Dyson, Alaa Edris, Alia Farid, Peter Friedl, Meschac Gaba, Nikolaus Gansterer, Eisa Jocson, Isabel Lewis, Daniel Lie, Laura Lima, Ulrik López, Carlos Martiel, Suchitra Mattai, Mohau Modisakeng, New Orleans Airlift, Tracey Rose, Wael Shawky, Caecilia Tripp and Wu Tsang.  

Dennis Mao is an editorial intern of ArtAsiaPacific.

To read more of ArtAsiaPacific’s articles, visit our Digital Library.

Back to News