• News
  • Oct 25, 2021

Hawai‘i Triennial 2022 Releases Full Artist List

Exterior view of the Royal Hawaiian Center, one of the seven venues for Hawai’i Triennial 2022. Image via Facebook.

On October 18, Honolulu-based nonprofit Hawai‘i Contemporary revealed the list of 43 artists and collectives participating in the inaugural Hawai‘i Triennial 2022 (HT22), titled “Pacific Century.” Alongside participants from Hawai’i, such as photographer duo Piliāmo‘o (Mark Hamasaki and Kapulani Landgraf), the Triennial spans artists from across the Asia-Pacific region including the eco-queer video artist Zheng Bo, sculptor and fashion designer Leeroy New, and the Karrabing Film Collective.

Curated by Melissa Chiu in collaboration with Miwako Tezuka and Drew Kahu‘āina Broderick, the Triennial will probe “themes of history, place, social activism, environmental change, and Indigenous knowledge” within the context of Hawai‘i and its place at the junction of Asia-Pacific and Oceania. The main exhibition of HT22 is slated to run from February 18 to May 8, 2022, at seven venues across the island of O‘ahu: Bishop Museum, Foster Botanical Garden, Hawaii Theatre Center, Hawai‘i State Art Museum, Iolani Palace, Honolulu Museum of Art, and Royal Hawaiian Center. In addition, HT22 will present free public programs and events for students, families, and general public, including a series of workshops, artist talks, and panel discussions.

The full list of participating artists and collectives is as follows:

‘Ai Pōhaku Press (Maile Meyer and Barbara Pope)

Ai Weiwei

Richard Bell

Herman Pi‘ikea Clark

Eating in Public

‘Elepaio Press (Richard Hamasaki and Mark Hamasaki)

Chitra Ganesh

Theaster Gates

Ed Greevy and Haunani-Kay Trask

Masanori Handa

Tsuyoshi Hisakado

Ai Iwane

Michael Joo

Karrabing Film Collective

Izumi Kato

Yuree Kensaku

Sung Hwan Kim

Liu Xiaodong

Dan Taulapapa McMullin


Miao Ying

Beatriz Santiago Muñoz

Nā Maka o ka ‘Āina (Joan Lander and Puhipau)

Leeroy New

Shinro Ohtake

Jamaica Heolimeleikalani Osorio and Jonathan Kamakawiwo‘ole Osorio

Pacific Sisters

Piliāmo‘o (Mark Hamasaki and Kapulani Landgraf)

Ahilapalapa Rands

Lawrence Seward

Athena Robles and Anna Stein (Double A Projects)

Jennifer Steinkamp

Sun Xun

Mika Tajima

Momoyo Torimitsu

TOQA (Isabel Sicat and Aiala)

Tropic Editions

Gaku Tsutaja

Ming Wong

Xu Bing

Chikako Yamashiro

Justine Youssef

Zheng Bo

Nicole Nepomuceno is ArtAsiaPacific’s assistant editor.

To read more of ArtAsiaPacific’s articles, visit our Digital Library.

Back to News