• News
  • Sep 21, 2022

Gwangju Biennale 2023 Reveals First Artist List

Installation view of CHRISTINE SUN KIM’s Every Life Signs, 2022, mixed media installation, dimensions variable, at Haus der Kunst, Munich. Photo by Judith Buss. Courtesy the artist; Francois Ghebaly, Los Angeles/ New York; and White Space Beijing.

On September 21, the Gwangju Biennale announced the first batch of participating artists for its 14th edition, slated to run from April 7 to July 9, 2023. The theme of the Biennale, “soft and weak like water,” derives from a chapter in Dao De Jing, the classical Chinese Daoist text, which discusses the transformative and restorative power of water.

Led by artistic director Sook-Kyung Lee, the Biennale will spotlight about 80 artists from around the world with more than 40 new works and projects. Alongside artists who reinterpret Gwangju’s history and traditions in a new light, participants also include artists who deliver their personal experience through their works and Korean artists from different generations.

For the 2023 edition, Brussels-based architect Sabine Theunissen will redesign the five galleries of the main venue, Gwangju Biennale Exhibition Hall, with execution overseen by Seoul-based architect Jeeyeon Ha. The Biennale will be divided into four sections: “Luminous Halo,” celebrating Gwangju’s spirit; “Ancestral Voices,” which features transnational artistic approaches that incorporate or critically reflect on traditions; “Transient Sovereignty,” examining the trajectory of post-colonial or de-colonial artistic thinking; and “Planetary Times,” on the possibility of a “planetary vision” when considering sustainability. 

The list of participating artists is as follows: 

Larry Achiampong (United Kingdom / Ghana)
Abbas Akhavan (Canada / Iran)
Farah Al Qasimi (United Arab Emirates)
Tarek Atoui (France / Lebanon)
Bakhyt Bubikanova (Kazakhstan)
María Magdalena Campos-Pons (Cuba / United States)
Chang Jia (South Korea)
Latifa Echakhch (France / Morocco)
James T. Hong (Taiwan / United States)
Sky Hopinka (United States)
Huong Dodinh (Vietnam)
Tess Jaray (United Kingdom)
Kang Yeon-gyun (South Korea)
Naiza Khan (Pakistan)
Yuki Kihara (Japan / Samoa)
Christine Sun Kim (United States / Germany)
Kira Kim (South Korea)
Kim Kulim (South Korea)
Minjung Kim (South Korea)
Soungui Kim (South Korea)
Emily Kame Kngwarreye (Australia)
Meiro Koizumi (Japan)
Abdoulaye Konaté (Mali)
Chila Kumari Singh Burman (United Kingdom)
Lee Kun-Yong (South Korea)
Lee Seung-taek (South Korea)
Kim Lim (Singapore)
Candice Lin (United States)
Tanya Lukin Linklater (United States)
Liu Jianhua (China)
Guadalupe Maravilla (El Salvador / Unites States)
Noé Martínez (Mexico)
Mata Aho Collective (New Zealand)
Mayunkiki (Japan)
Alan Michelson (United States)
Małgorzata Mirga-Tas (Poland)
Naeem Mohaiemen (Bangladesh / United States)
Yuko Mohri (Japan)
Betty Muffler (Australia)
Aliza Nisenbaum (United States)
Lucia Nogueira (Brazil / United Kingdom)
Oh Suk Kuhn (South Korea)
Oh Yoon (South Korea)
Oum Jeong Soon (South Korea)
Pangrok Sulap (Malaysia)
Sopheap Pich (Cambodia / United States)
Taiki Sakpisit (Thailand)
Thasnai Sethaseree (Thailand)
Dayanita Singh (India)
Buhlebezwe Siwani (South Africa)
Vivian Suter (Argentina / Switzerland)
Yu Jiwon (South Korea)
Yuma Taru (Taiwan)
Charwei Tsai (Taiwan)
Judy Watson (Australia)
Alberta Whittle (Barbados / United Kingdom)
Robert Zhao Renhui (Singapore)
David Zink Yi (Peru / Germany)

Lily Wong is ArtAsiaPacific’s editorial intern.